Single Source of Truth
♾️

Single Source of Truth

Whenever you point NeuraCache to a folder via “Select Folder to Observe” — NeuraCache will traverse all the markdown files every couple of hours, searching for cards.

By default, NeuraCache will try to update the cards (identifying them by a question) and create new ones if no match is found. It will never delete the cards.

Because NeuraCache, by default, does not delete the cards which have changed or are no longer present — this will result in duplicates or unintended cards at some point.

Ideally, “Select Folder to Observe” would point to a folder that becomes a source of truth — meaning that NeuraCache always reflects the state of that folder (creating/updating and deleting cards)

This is where “Single Source of Truth” comes to the rescue ❤️

  • Go to the “Cards” tab
  • tap the “Sources” icon in the top-right corner
  • tap “Single Source of Truth”

image

As mentioned earlier — by default, NeuraCache does not delete the cards that are missing from the sync/import process but are present already in the NeuraCache app.

If you would like to change this, you have two options:

Observed Folder, excluding imported

When this option is selected, NeuraCache will treat the folder set by “Select Folder to Observe” as a source of truth and update/create/delete the cards to match what is in that folder.

However, if there are cards that were imported using either:

  • Import Markdown Folder
  • Import Markdown File

These cards will remain in the NeuraCache app — even if they are not present in the “Select Folder to Observe” folder.

This approach allows you to import cards outside of Sync Folder from time to time — without losing them on the next sync process.

Observed Folder, including imported

When this option is selected, NeuraCache will treat the folder set by “Select Folder to Observe” as a source of truth and update/create/delete the cards to match what is in that folder.

Cards that were imported using either:

  • Import Markdown Folder
  • Import Markdown File

will also be updated/created, or deleted during the next sync process.

This approach allows you to treat the Sync Folder as the only source of truth — no matter what 👌